Race to Deliver

On Sunday, November 16, 2008, my sister and I participated in our third race …the “Race to Deliver” in Central Park, NYC. A 4 mile race that circled the center portion of the park. We have ran it before (to make sure we could) and yet it still was a challenge. My adrenaline was pumping and I got caught up in the excitement early on and started a tad too fast. This resulted in a side stitch and made the race very uncomfortable. Oh well — I forged ahead and ran my little heart out. As usual on race days – the hills seemed bigger, the course never ending and some ailment or another decided to show themselves. In addition to the side stitch I somehow developed a cramp in my thigh. I kept going with my sister pushing me on the straights and me yelling at her to get up the hills. Unless the pain is excrutiating I try to run through it! Towards the end I found my second wind and ran faster than I ever thought I could. I had a personal pace record of 12:41 from 13:05. I was not the last person to finish, which was my initial concern and for the first time ever in a race……I RAN THE WHOLE THING (no walking). I am truly proud of myself and am looking forward to my next race on December 7, 2008 – a 10k with even bigger hills and colder weather. Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

